CAB News

Christmas 2017 deadlines

November 2017

New Zealand's television broadcasters have released the scheduling and material deadlines for the upcoming holiday period. Please take note that this year each of the major networks have their own specific set of deadlines.

 

CAB will be closing at 12pm on Friday 22 December and will not open again until Monday 8 January 2018. There will be ‘emergency’ cover on the working days when the office is officially closed.

If you cannot meet the deadlines below you need to contact the stations and CAB in advance to make alternative arrangements.

 

TVNZ

Transmission during week commencing...

Instructions
to be supplied by
...

CAB approved material
to be supplied by...

Sunday 10 Dec 2017

Weds 6 December 2017

Thurs 7 December 2017

Sunday 17 Dec 2017

Mon 11 December 2017

Tues 12 December 2017

Sunday 24 Dec 2017

Thurs 14 December 2017

Fri 15 December 2017

Sunday 31 Dec 2017

Tues 19 December 2017

Tues 19 December 2017

7th & 8th Jan 2018

Tues 19 December 2017

Wed 20 December 2017

 

MEDIAWORKS

Transmission during week commencing...

Instructions
to be supplied by
...

CAB approved material
to be supplied by...

Sunday 17 Dec 2017

Wed 13 December 2017

Wed 13 December 2017

Sunday 24 Dec 2017

Mon 18 December 2017

Mon 18 December 2017

Sunday 31 Dec 2017

Tues 19 December 2017

Tues 19 December 2017

7th, 8th & 9th Jan 2018

Wed 20 December 2017

Wed 20 December 2017

 

SKY TELEVISION

Transmission during week commencing...

Instructions
to be supplied by
...

CAB approved material
to be supplied by...

Sunday 10 Dec 2017

Weds 6 December 2017

Wed 6 December 2017

Sunday 17 Dec 2017

Wed 6 December 2017

Mon 11 December 2017

Sunday 24 Dec 2017

Wed 13 December 2017

Wed 13 December 2017

Sunday 31 Dec 2017

Wed 13 December 2017

Wed 13 December 2017

7th & 8th Jan 2018

Wed 13 December 2017

Wed 13 December 2017

 

 

 

 


 

GET your key numbers RIGHT

 

 

New Zealand's television broadcasters have confirmed that they will no longer accept advertising key numbers that do not comply with the industry standard.

In 2009 the New Zealand television industry adopted an industry standard for the formatting of television commercial key numbers. This was in response to the growing problem of key numbers that were incompatable with the broadcasters' playout and logging systems.

The industry standard is as follows:

    1. A key number should include no more than 12 alphanumeric characters. Dashes, slashes and hyphens are treated as spaces and are ignored.
    2. All key numbers must follow the advertiser/duration/unique reference format (e.g. ABC 030 0001 and ABC 015 0002). This ensures that the advertiser and duration are easily identifiable and that no two dubs from a single advertiser will ever have the same last four digits.
    3. The 'R' suffix (e.g. ABC 030 0001R) must only be used to denote a technical amendment. Any change to the actual contents of the commercial requires a new key number.

key numbers

CAB has been asked to ensure that all commercials approved now follow this simple format.